16 Northern States Volunteer Land For Cattle Colonies

LAGOS JANUARY 23RD (NEWSRANGERS)-Sixteen Nigerian states have agreed to the establishment of cattle colonies proposed by the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh as a solution to the incessant herdsmen crisis.
It was gathered that some 16 states, all in the North, have volunteered land for the establishment of cattle colonies in their domain.
The states include: Adamawa, Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Zamfara, Kebbi, Nasarawa and Plateau.
Others are Bauchi, Gombe, Borno, Jigawa, Yobe, Niger, Kogi and Kwara states.
According to The Punch, all the 16 states have agreed to volunteer 5,000 hectares of land each.
However, Benue and Taraba experiencing herdsmen attacks have rejected the cattle colonies.
All the 17 states of Southern Nigeria have also refused to volunteer land for the cattle colonies.
It would be recalled that Governor Ayo Fayose had vowed not to give Ekiti land for cattle colonies.
Similarly, the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC) rejected Federal Government’s plan to establish ‘cattle colonies,’ in South-Western states.

Please follow and like us:

Related Post

Short URL: https://www.newsrangers.com/?p=2191

Posted by on Jan 23 2018. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

News Rangers TV

Recent Gallery Slideshow

Follow me on Twitter

Photo Gallery

Designed by Nate Otaba