Central Bank Issues Operation License For Three New Banks In Nigeria

LAGOS JULY 24TH (NEWSRANGERS)-The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has issued operating licence to three new banks to operate in the country.
The new banks are Titan Trust Bank Limited, TAJ Bank Limited and Globus Bank Limited.
According to the apex bank, Titan Trust and Globus Bank will operate as commercial lenders while TAJ Bank Limited was licensed to operate as a non-interest bank.
TAJ Bank would join Jaiz Bank as the two banks operating as a non-interest bank in the country.
Before the banking reform of 2005, instituted by ex-governor of the CBN, Charles Soludo, Nigeria has as many as 89 banks operating as commercial and merchant banks.
With the reform, which hike minimum capital base to 25 billion naira from 2 billion naira, the number reduced to 24 universal banks.

Please follow and like us:

Related Post

Short URL: https://www.newsrangers.com/?p=31475

Posted by on Jul 24 2019. Filed under Business, National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

News Rangers TV

Recent Gallery Slideshow

Follow me on Twitter

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department